Virginia Boys State provides the opportunity to gain hands-on experience in one of three areas of government. At Boys State, participants are exposed to the rights and privileges, the duties and the responsibilities of a franchised citizen. The training is objective and practical with city, county and state governments operated by the students elected to the various offices. Activities include legislative sessions, court proceedings, law enforcement presentations, assemblies, bands, chorus and recreational programs.

Virginia Boys State is a leadership action program, designed to develop a working knowledge of the structure of government and to impress upon the citizen the fact that our government is just what we make it. Along the way they will have the opportunity to learn the political process. Each level of government will be run by those delegates who are elected to serve. Instruction will be presented on the law and court system, parliamentary procedure and Virginia political history.


Important Dates

June 16-22, 2024 – Virginia Boys State

Contact the Boys State Team

About The Committee


Chairman:  Steve Robertson (290),

Vice Chairman: Denis Confer (57),

Members: Bill Stramm (56), Mark Antley (280), Carlos Rojas (5), Thom Guthrie (17), Steve Cox (29), Bob Brady (247), William Chan (25), Marty Pfeifer (176), Mike Kimlick (177), Michael Gogan (16), Jim Walsh (244)

Officers of Board of Directors

  • Director: Linden Dixon (139)
  • Deputy Director: Michael Burnett (290)
  • Registrar: Denis Confer (57)

Boys State Corporation Officers

  • President: Rick Oertel (284)
  • Vice President: Bill Stramm (56)
  • Secretary: Scott Maddrea (244)
  • Treasurer: Larry D. Greene (252)

Purpose: To formulate, recommend and implement adopted policies and procedures for the promotion of Boys State of Virginia and to assist the its Board of Directors in the coordination and implementation of the overall program.

Reporting: The Chairman of Boys State Committee reports its actions and activities to the Department Executive Committee.