2018-2019 JROTC Drill Team Sub-Committee:

Chairman: Robert Cardwell (16)

Chairman Emeritus: Willie D. Ransom (186)

Vice Chairmen:  Otto Davis (16), Danny Goolsby (330), Charles Medeiros (284)

Members: Otha Newton, Jr. (327), Curtis Stith (120), Robert O’Keefe (48), Robert Eidsvoog (176), Mark Meier (10) 

Ex-Officio Member: Dale D. Chapman (325)


The Virginia American Legion supports Jr Reserve Officer Training Corps (JROTC) program by hosting drill team competitions at the District, Region and Department (State) levels.  The High School ROTC drill teams compete in several different categories for the “General Colin Powell Trophy.”  For more information contact Legion Headquarters at (804) 353-6606 or eeccleston@valegion.org

Regional Competitions:

Eastern Region:   

Northern Region:  

Western Region: 

Department Competition:

March 10, 2017 at 9:00 AM at Little Creek Naval Base in the Rockwell Hall Gym.  Building # and Access Information to be published.


The 2017 Department of Virginia JROTC Drill Team Competition will take place on Friday, March 10, 2017 at 9:00 AM at Little Creek Naval Base in the Rockwell Hall Gym.

All personnel must enter the Base through Gate 3. After being checked and upon entering the Base proceed to the 1st light which is Amphibious Drive turn (Right) proceed to stop sign turn (Left) on Nidar Blvd. proceed to stop sign turn (Right) on 5th Street Rockwell Hall Gym is on the (Left).

Information needed for Base entry will be (the driver of the car must provide driver’s license number and state of issuance, name & state of Insurance). Passengers must present a form of ID preferable driver’s license. I must complete a spread sheet and send it in a week before March 9th so Regional Cmdrs please email me the information ASAP.

The event will start at 09:00 and the competitions will be completed around (2:00 pm) without a lunch break  Should you have questions in addition of my email robear_1_98@yahoo.com I can be contacted 434-401-2199.

Robert Cardwell

Department JROTC Drill Team Chairman